Wednesday, 17 November 2010

Auction on Jan 8 & Jan 9

The IPL Governing Council, that met today, has come out with a few key decisions
1. Official Reduction of 10 teams to 8 teams: It has been officially informed that there would be only 8 teams in IPL - Season 4. Final death knell on Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab. Thanks to this decision, we don't have live with the new league format.
2.  Auction for IPL - 4 will take place on January 8 & 9. It has postponed from the earlier planned November.
3. Key Change in determining Finalists: Concept of Semi-finals has been removed from IPL. After the league phase is over, top two will play a play-off match that would determine one of the finalists. The team lose in this play-off would play against the winner of the match between 3rd and 4th placed team to determine the other finalist.

Simpler Explanation
Play-off Match: 1 - Team No:1 in League Table Vs Team No: 2 in League Table
Play-off Match 2 - Team No:3 in League Table Vs Team No: 4 in League Table
Play-off Match 3 - Loser of Play-off Match 1 Vs Winner of Play-off Match 2
Winners  of Play-off matches 1 and 3 qualifies for finals.

I have to agree that this is a lot better system that rewards top performing teams in IPL League Phase.

No comments: